View Mike Zacher (vazco)'s plugins
HOW IT LOOKS:
When this plugin is enabled, each group after creation is visible only for admins and it's creator. Admin has to approve the group as valid in order for group to be visible to everyone. Alternatively, he can delete it.
After someone creates a group, it's visible only for the creator and admins. Admin has to approve the group as valid in order for group to be visible to everyone. He has to enter the group's profile and use the 'activate' or 'delete' button from the group's menu. This menu will appear above the group's description.
The plugin is clean, simple and easy to extend.
In commercial version, available at project's homepage (the link 'plugin homepage' in the left column) there are additional features:
More detailed description is available at project's homepage
This version don't validate group after edit
new issue: group aps are public even if group has not been moderated (authorized). For example. 1) Establish a Group. 2) Enter a Page, make it public -- we eventually want the group and the pages to be public. 3) Even though the group has not yet been moderated by the admin and does not display to the public, the group page does display to the public. I have not tried other group aps like blogs, etc -- but I expect they too will be visible to the public, even though group has not been moderated.
We have the commercial version of this plugin for 1.7 that has worked well for us. Does anyone know if there is a 1.8 version available or at least in the works. I've tried send vazco several messages but have not received a reply. So wondering if anyone knows anything.