Switch from LTR to RTL and vice-versa using Language Selector plugin

Hi guys,

With the help of the plugins of Susan Tsairi (Theme RTL Default - http://goo.gl/Rs33y) and Jeroen (Language Selector - http://goo.gl/cgC73) I could come up with a plugin for switching from LTR to RTL and vice-versa. I know I am not a PHP developer but this worked for me although it is not stable because it requires you to upgrade the plugin after every other plugin installation or upgrade. So it's half automatic!

As said, works like a charm when it's the last plugin being incorporated to the list of plugins but would like to see your views and tips before producing a robust RTL/LTR (or the opposite) switching on the fly.

Here's my code (hoping for better enhancement as I am not a PHP expert). It works as explained above but it not robust. Any opinions?

<?php

// Initialization of the plugin.
    // We clear out all previously included CSS views that other plugins have put in (using elgg_extend_view)
    function x_init(){
    $current_lang_id = get_current_language();
    global $CONFIG;

// For backward compatibility, we'll check if the elgg_extend_view() function exists (Elgg 1.7+) or the extend_view() function exists (Elgg 1.6.1 - Elgg 1.7)
        // *** extend_view may exist in previous version of Elgg as well.
        // *** We haven't used any previous versions though so to be safe, we've put 1.6.1 as min version
        if (function_exists('elgg_extend_view') || function_exists('extend_view')){
            // As we see form the elgglib.php file in the elgg_extend_view() function, the views are saved in this array
            // Having our plugin run last means we can reset the array and then just use our own CSS file to extend the view
            if (isset($CONFIG->views->extensions['css'])){
                // Clearing the actual array of views
                $CONFIG->views->extensions['css'] = array();
            }